Oguaa Traditional Council awards outstanding personalities, entities

Written by Amenorhu kwaku
The Oguaa Traditional Council, at the second edition of the Osabarima Royal Awards, has honoured outstanding institutions and distinguished personalities who had contributed to the development of Cape Coast.

The awards, held in partnership with the Ridge Royal Hotel, rewarded businesses, institutions and personalities for their excellent performance.

Categorized into 14 with a total of 46 personalities and institutions, the award was opened to only individuals residing and working in Cape Coast or who are indigenes of the town.

The categories include Media, Entertainment and Fashion, Banking and Finance, General Business, Public Sector, Education, Health, and Tourism.

Mr Kwabena Antwi-Konadu, the General Manager of Campus Broadcasting Services ((CBS), emerged the best in Media Promotions.

The Most Outstanding Media Personality went to Nana Ama Egyirba of Darling FM, Most Outstanding Media House; Darling FM, and Most Outstanding Media Manager; Jimmy Kutin, General Manager of Darling FM.

Most outstanding media person promoting Cape Coast from outside; Samuel Nana Effah Obeng, and Best Media Personality promoting tourism, Ebenezer Azu of GBC Radio Central.

Businesses recognised included Melcom, winning the Most Sustained Business, Gyam Engineering and Construction Works Limited, Most Innovative Business, and Voltic Ghana Limited, Beverage Distribution and Penetration in Cape Coast.

On Education, Mr Godfred Daniel Amonoo was adjudged the Best Teacher, and Mr William Nartey, Overall Best Student in Cape Coast BECE.

Adisadel College was the Best Second Cycle School in Sports, while Best Cultural Troop went to Twereampong Traditionals.

The most outstanding health personnel went to Dr Joseph Tawia Turkson, while Heartbeat Homeopathic Clinic was the best allied health facility.

The most impactful in community is Wesley Methodist Cathedral and the most influential religious leader went to Right Reverend Richardson Aboagye Andam of the Methodist Church.

Three Best Fishermen recognised are; John Coleman, Egypt Esuo, and Kweku Ewera Seibo, with Mena Sarsa,
Araba Woyie and Araba Dogo being the Best Fishmongers.

Addressing the gathering prior to the awards, Osabarima Kwesi Atta II, Omanhen of Oguaa Traditional Area, asked all citizens to make meaningful contributions to the development of the city of history.

He hinted of plans to expand the categories to cover areas including sanitation to rid the Metropolis of filth.

“We are working to include community sanitation challenge to beef up efforts in promoting good sanitation practices among the citizenry,” he said.

About the author

Amenorhu kwaku